Ctrl–Alt–Del Called Secure Attention Sequence (SAS) In Windows

The Ctrl – Alt – Del key sequence  that have to press before logging into the computer is called Secure Attention Sequence (SAS) in technical terms. It is not enabled by default in Personal Computers which are not a part of Domain network.

Secure Attention Sequence is a term specific to Microsoft Operating System, Windows and is handled by Winlogon component of the Windows Kernel. The Secure Attention Key is used to make login spoofing impossible because the user has to press those keys before typing in his username and password.

Secure Attention Keys for some of other Operating Systems are as follows:

Ctrl – Alt – Pause for Linux

Control -X Control-R for AID

Break for OpenVMS

Shift – STOP for Plato IV

Leave a Comment